• Satsuma voted on April 12, 2011, to create its own school system and began the process of forming a school board with plans to start school in the Fall of 2012. The Satsuma City Council received 21 applications for the five-member board and following two rounds of interviews, the Satsuma Board of Education was formed with the following members being sworn in on June 7, 2011: Linda Robbins, James Woosley, Diane Keasler, Jimmy Upton, and Pat Hicks.

    Original Satsuma Board of Education members

    The new board immediately began the work required to separate from the Mobile County Public School System. On April 5, 2012, the separation agreement between the two school boards was completed and signed. In June 2012, the U.S. Department of Justice granted Pre-Clearance to the board, officially establishing the Satsuma City School System.